Welcome to Omni Music Publishing Shop

Full Orchestral Scores

John Powell’s “How To Train Your Dragon” Full Orchestral Score

(15 customer reviews)


Pre-order now to reserve your copy of our upcoming title!
Score will be available on July 18, 2023, and all orders will be shipped out promptly after that date.

Attention customers outside North America:
Schott Music in Germany is now offering this title. Please click on the link below to compare shipping costs, which might be considerably lower than ordering from Omni directly. Order “How to Train Your Dragon” outside of North America at Schott Music

50 in stock (can be backordered)

SKU: 9781734507928 Category:

Available Worldwide
Note: Please check with your country for import/duty tax before ordering. This charge will be in addition to the book cost and shipping cost and varies by country.

One of the most notable features of Powell’s score, is how it blends musical styles and instrumentation. John Powell was inspired by the “Scandinavian Scotland” from Cressida Cowell’s books. Based upon his own Scottish heritage, he used instruments such as bagpipes, dulcimers, and whistles, to portray Viking protagonists. Additionally, the score features as many as ten themes, and endless orchestral imagination. Be the first to own of of the finest scores Powell has ever produced.

348 pages, 9X12 inches. Paperbound, printed in U.S.A

Weight3.375 lbs
Dimensions9 × 12 × 1 in


1. This Is Berk (Alternate Film Version)
2. This Is Berk (Original Opening Version)
3. Anybody See That?
4. War Room
5. Training Out There
6. Hiccup Comes Home
7. Dragon Training
8. Wounded
9. The Dragon Book
10. Hiccup Focus
11. Offering
12. Forbidden Friendship
13. New Tail
14. Teamwork
15. Charming The Pziiffelback
16. See You Tomorrow
17. Test Drive
18. Not So Fireproof
19. This Time For Sure
20. Astrid Finds Toothless
21. Astrid Goes For A Spin
22. Romantic Flight
23. Dragon’s Den
24. Let’s Find Dad
25. Kill Ring/Stop The Fight
26. Not A Viking
27. Ready/Confront
28. Relax/Stroke/Hell
29. Over/Less Okay
30. Wings
31. Counter Attack
32. Where’s Hiccup
33. Coming Back Around
34. The Vikings Have Their Tea

15 reviews for John Powell’s “How To Train Your Dragon” Full Orchestral Score

  1. Benjamin Costello (verified owner)

    Extremely high quality and faithful presentation of the full score along with excellent cue-by-cue analyses of a seminal and widely-popular orchestral film score. If you’ve ever wanted to explore the secrets of Powell’s writing and orchestration in a way that you can’t really do with your ear alone, this is the book for you. I’ve been waiting for something like this!

  2. Alex Hoffman (verified owner)

    Omni hit it out of the park again with this score! This is a beautiful presentation of Powell’s fantastic score, especially considering the massive number of instruments that have to make it onto the page. It’s a dream come true to have such a brilliant and recent score available, and the accompanying CD makes the deal even better. I highly recommend picking up a copy!

  3. ed buller (verified owner)

    Fantastic Edition of a Fantastic score. John Powell has become the BIG composer for fantasy action-adventure. This score is a textbook study on how big these films can sounds. Worthy of constant study, there is so much to be gleaned from these pages, and due to the fine quality of this edition, you will be able to.

  4. Erick barajas (verified owner)

    Está hermoso el libro de lo mejor que hay lo recomiendo 10/10

  5. Erick Barajas (verified owner)

    Lo mejor me encantó el libro todo lo tiene para aquellos que quisieran crear una banda tocando estás melodías lo podrán hacer con este estupendo libro lo recomiendo

  6. ED BULLER (verified owner)

    The Current GO-TOO fantasy animation composer did a fantastic Job with his Dragon Series . This being the first, and full of great Themes and Gaelic flavours. Beautifully made in a solid thick binding you can follow along to the Kill ring in all it’s Octatonic glory ! A compendium of orchestral tricks and flourishes this is an essential purchase for anyone studying Film Music.

  7. Miquel (verified owner)

    Incredible edition. Very well written score and perfectly orchestrated. It is worth the price. It is very rare to find this kind of film scores.

  8. Andy Allen (verified owner)

    An iconic score, beautifully presented. This book is clearly a labor of love, and a work of art.

  9. Dave Gottlieb (verified owner)

    Powell’s score is beautiful, and this printed edition is fantastic! I wish every printed score was this clear. Everything (even the transposing instruments!) are in concert pitch, and the instrument names are on every page. So nice! The paper quality and binding are excellent. All the formatting is clear and readable, and I love it. Thanks for publishing this–worth every penny!

  10. Quinten Schlücker (verified owner)

    High quality book with a great analysis of the music. The great music of John Powell is made even more impressive by the vivid sheet music. I was very happy about such a good edition.

  11. Emily (verified owner)

    I have been looking everywhere to get my hands and analyze John Powell’s amazing work with this score. I highly recommend; this is an incredibly accurate [edition] and well worth the money.

  12. Lukas Zschorlich (verified owner)

    I´m so happy.
    It was a dream to hear the music while holding the score in my hand.

    Thank you!
    Vielen Dank!
    Greetings from Germany.

  13. Sai (verified owner)

    I’ve wanted to study this score ever since I was 15, when I heard it for the first time alongside the film. Being able to finally take it apart and study it note for note is a dream come true.

  14. Jonathan Crocker (verified owner)

    I have been a fan of John Powell’s for years!! Now to see this score I am continually amazed at his genius, knowledge of the orchestra, and his ability to pair groupings of instruments that you’d think wouldn’t pair well but in fact not only compliment but enhance each other!! I hope that this is the beginning of long relationship between OMNI and John Powell!

  15. Danny.

    I am so happy to finally have the opportunity to see the amazing score of this film. Being able to see the magic of it all, and just seeing how much passion was put into it. I love it so much! Thank you!

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *